Augustin Maurs

Water Music (2016) for brass ensemble

Plage du Larvotto

Horaire : 29th April 2016 – 20:10 – 20:30

Duration:20 minutes

Photo credit: © Augustin Maurs

Augustin Maurs is a French musician and composer. Based on the idea of ​​interpretation, his work consists in making music outside of its traditional representation of context and explore various forms of listening and creating. His series Bach Suites In the Dark – during which he interprets Bach’s cello suites in a fully immersed black space, repeatedly and over a ten day period – was widely represented, from New York to Berlin. In 2013, he invested the Berlin Philharmonic by developing musical projects with visual artists including Afif, Annika Larsson, Tino Sehgal and Olaf Nicolai. He has also conducted many projects and participated in various collaborations, in particular with the Auditorium Parco della Musica de Rome, KNM contemporary music or EBM-T (Tokyo). Augustin Maurs is the founder of the platform written-not-written based in Berlin.

For Nuit Blanche Monaco, it is implementing a new project inspired by the piece Water Music by Handel, whose creation took place in London during a boat parade on the Thames in 1717. Augustin Maurs plays with history and characteristics of this work through a new piece for brass ensemble, arranged on the Larvotto beach.