Henrik Håkansson

THE END

Auditorium Rainier III

Horaire : 29th April 2016 – 21:30 – 22:00

Duration:30 minutes

With courtesy of the artist and Modern Institute / Toby Webster Ltd, Glasgow

The work of Swedish artist Henrik Håkansson involves the meticulous observation of nature. Frequently making use of film or other recording techniques, he transforms the view of rare birds or ordinary insects in an instant with extraordinary dramatic intensity, playing on the language of conceptual and minimalist art.

Swedish artist Henrik Håkansson’s artistic work revolves around the idea of observing nature. Often using film or other recording devices, he transforms the sight of rare birds or ordinary insects into a dramatic, exceptional moment, playing on the language of conceptual and minimal art. For his project THE END, Håkansson collaborates with members of the Monte Carlo Philharmonic Orchestra, conductor Jessica Cottis, and improvisational drummer Mark Sanders, to perform a piece of music written by British composer John Coxon. The ensemble plays a live score to a short film shot by the artist, playing on themes of death, tragedy – and comedy.

 

Born in 1968, Henrik Håkansson is a Swedish artist who lives in Berlin. A true naturalist, he has been able to transfer his fascination with nature to the art world becoming, over time, an accomplished amateur. His work presents the minute details of nature at an oversized scale. In his projects, Håkansson combines the points of view of a biologist, an ethnologist and an artist, much as the explorers of the nineteenth century did.

His solo exhibitions include: Palais de Tokyo, Paris (2006); Museo Tamayo Arte Contemporáneo, Mexico (2008); Middlesbrough Institute of Modern Art (MIMA), Middlesbrough, England (2009); Fiac-Hors Les Murs aux Jardins Des Plantes, la Foire international d’Art Contemporain (Fiac), Paris (2011); The Modern Institute/Toby Webster Ltd, Glasgow (2011); Parcours, Art Basel (2012); Swedish Institute, Paris (2015); Kunstverein Freiburg, 2016.

 

Born in 1979, Jessica Cottis is an Anglo-Australian conductor who has already led the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra and the Sydney Symphony Orchestra. John Coxon is an improvising guitarist, a central figure in London’s music scene through his group Spring Heel Jack and his multiple collaborations with Evan Parker and Spiritualized. Mark Sanders is a drummer who is equally well-versed in improvisation. His collaborations include work with artists such as Wadada Leo Smith, Otomo Yoshihide, Peter Brötzmann, Christian Marclay and John Zorn.

Henrik Håkansson

THE END

Auditorium Rainier III

Horaire : 29 avril 2016, 21h30 - 22h00

Durée : 30 minutes

Avec l’aimable autorisation de l’artiste et du Modern Institute / Toby Webster Ltd, Glasgow

 

The End est l’histoire filmée d’une humble petite créature, accompagnée par un cœur et l’Orchestre Philharmonique de Monte-Carlo exceptionnellement dirigé par Jessica Cottis. La musique, composée par le britannique John Coxon, offre au spectateur une catharsis à travers un portrait tragi-comique de la vie et de la mort d’une simple mouche.

Ce jeu entre le cinéma et la musique permet à Henrik Håkansson de créer un film noir musical dramatique. Le protagoniste principal est une mouche insignifiante et fragile, métaphore de la condition humaine et de l’implacable cycle de la vie régi par le destin.

 

Henrik Håkansson (né en 1968) est un artiste suédois qui vit à Berlin. C’est un naturaliste qui a transposé sa fascination pour la nature dans le monde de l’art. et qui est devenu au cours du temps un amateur accompli. Son œuvre s’intéresse aux détails minutieux de la nature présentés à grande échelle.  Dans ses projets, Håkansson combine les intérêts d’un biologiste, d’un ethnologue et d’un artiste, à la manière des explorateurs du XIXe siècle.

Quelques expositions personnelles : Palais de Tokyo, Paris (2006) ; Museo Tamayo Arte Contemporáneo, Mexico (2008) ; Middlesbrough Institute of Modern Art – MIMA, Middlesbrough, Angleterre (2009) ; Fiac-Hors Les Murs aux Jardins Des Plantes, la Foire internationale d’Art Contemporain – Fiac, Paris (2011) ; The Modern Institute/Toby Webster Ltd, Glasgow (2011) ; Art Parcours, Art Basel (2012) ; Institut suédois, Paris (2015) ; Kunstverein Freiburg, 2016.

Né en 1979 , Jessica Cottis est un conducteur anglo-australien qui a déjà dirigé le BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra et l’Orchestre symphonique de Sydney . John Coxon est un guitariste d’improvisation , une figure centrale dans la scène musicale de Londres grâce à son groupe Spring Heel Jack et ses multiples collaborations avec Evan Parker et Spiritualized . Mark Sanders est un batteur qui est tout aussi bien versé dans l’improvisation . Ses collaborations incluent le travail avec des artistes tels que Wadada Leo Smith , Otomo Yoshihide , Peter Brötzmann , Christian Marclay et John Zorn .