Anna K.E. et Florian Meisenberg

Late Checkout

Terrasse de l'Hôtel Fairmont Monte-Carlo

Horaire : 29th April 2016 – 22:50 – 23:10

Duration:20 minutes

Late Checkout (part 2), 2015 (still)Crédit photo : © Anna K.E. & Florian Meisenberg

Florian Meisenberg is a German painter and installation artist, and Anna K.E. a Georgian artist working across sculpture, drawing and video, both living in New York City. Together they have realized a number of projects that bring into play their shared interest in the effect modern communication technology has on the body and on the sensual experience between people. For a series of collaborative projects, the two checked into hotel rooms; and while Anna K.E. used her skill as a classically trained ballet dancer,  striking poses on bedside tables while attentively watching her smartphone, Meisenberg filmed her with his camera – in turn transmitted live to K.E.’s phone. This loop of observation creates an awkward reversal of objectification. For the Nuit Blanche in Monaco, Meisenberg and K.E. will realize a new version of this project, for the first time bringing in yet another factor into the loop: an audience witnessing a live transmission.

Anna K.E.’s experience as a ballet dancer underpins her artistic approach focused on the relationship between objects and their environment, and on the way in which the latter can define or limit objects, through installation, sculpture and video.

Florian Meisenberg, born in 1980 in Düsseldorf, uses painting, performance, installation and video in his art. His work reflects the diversity of his talents. Florian began his studies in media design before enrolling in Kunstakademie Düsseldorf where he studied with Peter Doig and met Anna K.E. Florian moved to New York in 2010 with his girlfriend and working partner Anna K.E.

Anna K.E. et Florian Meisenberg

Late Checkout

Terrasse de l'Hôtel Fairmont Monte-Carlo

Horaire : 29 avril 2016, 22h50 - 23h10

Durée : 20 minutes

Late Checkout (part 2), 2015 (still)Crédit photo : © Anna K.E. & Florian Meisenberg

Florian Meisenberg est un peintre allemand et artiste d’installation. Anna K.E., quant à elle, est une artiste géorgienne dont la pratique réunit la sculpture, le dessin et la vidéo. Tous deux vivent à New York. Ensemble, ils ont réalisé de nombreux projets qui mettent en jeu un même intérêt pour l’effet qu’ont les technologies modernes de communication sur le corps et sur l’expérience sensuelle entre les personnes. Pour une série de projets de collaboration, tous deux se sont installés dans des chambres d’hôtel. Alors qu’Anna K.E., mettant à profit ses talents de ballerine classique, prenait des poses sur les tables de nuit tout en regardant attentivement son smartphone, Florian Meisenberg la filmait avec sa caméra, les images étant en retour directement transmises au mobile d’Anna K.E. Cette boucle d’observation crée un renversement délicat d’objectivation. À l’occasion de la Nuit Blanche de Monaco, Florian Meisenberg et Anna KE vont réaliser une nouvelle version de ce projet, incluant pour la première fois un autre facteur dans la boucle : un public témoin d’une transmission en direct.

L’expérience d’Anna K.E. en tant que ballerine sous-tend sa démarche artistique axée sur la relation entre les objets et leur environnement, et sur la façon dont ce dernier peut définir ou limiter les objets, par l’installation, la sculpture et la vidéo.
Florian Meisenberg (né en 1980 à Dusseldorf) utilise la peinture, la performance, l’installation et la vidéo. Son travail reflète la variété de ses talents. Florian a commencé ses études en design médias avant d’entrer à l’Académie des Beaux-Arts de Düsseldorf où il a étudié avec Peter Doig et rencontré Anna K.E. Florian a déménagé à New York en 2010 avec sa compagne et partenaire de travail Anna K.E.